Bioregional Assessment Program

The Australian Government's bioregional assessments programs are a collaboration between the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, the Bureau of Meteorology, CSIRO and Geoscience Australia. There are two separate programs of bioregional assessments.

The Bioregional Assessment Program (2012 - 2017) seeks to better understand the potential impacts of coal seam gas and large coal mining developments on water resources and water-related assets. It is one of a number of actions undertaken by the Australian Government to strengthen the science underpinning decision making on coal seam gas and large coal mining developments.

The Geological and Bioregional Assessment Program (2017 - 2021) assessed the potential impacts of shale and tight gas development on water and the environment. The Program assessed three priority geological basins: the Cooper Basin in Queensland and South Australia, the Isa Superbasin in Queensland and the Beetaloo Sub-basin in the Northern Territory (referred to as GBA regions

Additional Info

Field Value
Jurisdiction Commonwealth of Australia
Geospatial Coverage