JSON   RDF   ISO19115/ISO19139 XML

Regional Development Australia (RDA) 2014-15

Regional Development Australia 2014-15 (December 2015)

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is an Australian Government initiative that brings together all levels of government to enhance the growth and development of Australia's regions. A national network of RDA committees has been established to achieve this objective.

RDA Regions are created and maintained by the Dept. of Infrastructure and Regional Development to support this initiative.


The RDA Regions (2014-15) were built from the ABS LGA 2014 boundary dataset.

The RDA spatial data is updated as new LGA boundaries are released by ABS or as RDA regional boundaries move.

On the 16th of August 2011, the RDA representation of Lord Howe Island, previously RDA Northern Rivers was changed to RDA Mid North Coast. The 2011 dataset was updated to reflect this change.

NT, Tas and ACT

These states and territories are defined as single RD regions. West Daly RC, which deamalgamated from Victoria-Daly RC was added 1/7/14


RDA regions are not completely defined within LGA boundaries, with some RDA regions being defined from the previously existing 2007 South Australia Government Region boundaries. Thus, the large unincorporated LGA (Outback Communities Authority) is divided between 3 RDAs (see SA Government Regions for more information).


RDA South Coast includes the external territory of Jervis Bay. In previous data releases, Lord Howe Island (part of the ABS Unincorporated NSW) was part of RDA Northern Rivers. On the 16 of August 2011, Lord Howe Island was to be represented by Mid North Coast.

Norfolk Island IS NOT part of any RDA


Unincorporated VIC (Snow fields and Islands) have been combined into their surrounding RDA's


The external territories of Christmas Island and Cocos/Keeling Islands are part of RD Mid West Gascoyne.

There was also an amalgamation between the City of Geraldton-Greenough and Shire of Mullewa on the 1st of July 2011 to form the City of Greater Geraldton. The LGA code for Geraldton-Greenough (53520) was retained for the new City of Greater Geraldton.


On the 1/1/14, 4 councils deamalgamated. Mareeba Shire reformed from Tablelands Regional, Douglas Shire reformed from Cairns Regional, Livingstone Shire from Rockhampton Regional and Noosa Shire from Sunshine Coast Regional. LGA boundaries had minor adjustments from the 2007 boundaries, but there were no changes to the RDA boundaries.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Title Regional Development Australia (RDA) 2014-15
Type Dataset
Language English
Licence Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia
Data Status active
Update Frequency annually
Landing Page https://data.gov.au/dataset/61f86764-5267-4e50-92fd-2b7de7792b8b
Date Published 2014-12-09
Date Updated 2017-11-15
Contact Point
Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
Peter Harrison
Temporal Coverage 2014-07-01 - 2015-06-30
Geospatial Coverage {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[72.577271144, -54.776992954], [167.998139916, -54.776992954], [167.998139916, -9.142175977], [72.577271144, -9.142175977], [72.577271144, -54.776992954]]]}
Jurisdiction Commonwealth of Australia
Data Portal data.gov.au
Publisher/Agency Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus