JSON   RDF   ISO19115/ISO19139 XML

RDA LGA 2015-16

Regional Development Australia (with LGA's) 2015-16 (April 2016)

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is an Australian Government initiative that brings together all levels of government to enhance the growth and development of Australia's regions. A national network of RDA committees has been established to achieve this objective.

RDA Regions are created and maintained by the Dept. of Infrastructure and Regional Development to support this initiative.


The RDA Regions (2015-16) were built from the ABS/PSMA LGA 2015 boundary dataset.

The RDA spatial data is updated as new LGA boundaries are released by ABS or as RDA regional boundaries move.

On the 16th of August 2011, the RDA representation of Lord Howe Island, previously RDA Northern Rivers was changed to RDA Mid North Coast. The 2011 dataset was updated to reflect this change.

NT, Tas and ACT

These states and territories are defined as single RD regions. West Daly RC, which deamalgamated from Victoria-Daly RC was added 1/7/14.

In Tas, Macquarie Island is part of the Huon Valley LGA (due to historical decisions)


RDA regions are not completely defined within LGA boundaries, with some RDA regions being defined from the previously existing 2007 South Australia Government Region boundaries. Thus, the large unincorporated LGA (Outback Communities Authority) is divided between 3 RDAs (see SA Government Regions for more information).

More work has also been done on identifying Outback Community Authority islands (which have been incorporated into their respective RDA's)


RDA South Coast includes the external territory of Jervis Bay. In previous data releases, Lord Howe Island (part of the ABS Unincorporated NSW) was part of RDA Northern Rivers. On the 16 of August 2011, Lord Howe Island was to be represented by Mid North Coast and is under the control of the LHI Board.

Norfolk Island IS NOT YET part of any RDA

There has also been more work around Sydney Harbour identifying NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and Sydney Harbour Trust Islands. The remainder of Unincorporated NSW now falls under the control of NSW Trade and Investment: Crown Lands


Unincorporated VIC (Snow fields and Islands) have been combined into their surrounding RDA's


The external territories of Christmas Island and Cocos/Keeling Islands are part of RD Mid West Gascoyne.

Rottnest Is has been separated from the City of Cockburn (as it is governed by an Authority), and Carnac, Edwards and Lancelin Islands have been identified as falling under the control of DPaW.

There was also an amalgamation between the City of Geraldton-Greenough and Shire of Mullewa on the 1st of July 2011 to form the City of Greater Geraldton. The LGA code for Geraldton-Greenough (53520) was retained for the new City of Greater Geraldton.


On the 1/1/14, 4 councils deamalgamated. Mareeba Shire reformed from Tablelands Regional, Douglas Shire reformed from Cairns Regional, Livingstone Shire from Rockhampton Regional and Noosa Shire from Sunshine Coast Regional. LGA boundaries had minor adjustments from the 2007 boundaries, but there were no changes to the RDA boundaries.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Title RDA LGA 2015-16
Type Dataset
Language English
Licence Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia
Data Status active
Update Frequency daily
Landing Page https://data.gov.au/dataset/b4987061-bb02-47ad-af54-53aa80705aad
Date Published 2016-04-15
Date Updated 2017-11-16
Contact Point
Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities
Temporal Coverage 2015-07-01 - 2016-06-30
Geospatial Coverage National
Jurisdiction Commonwealth of Australia
Data Portal data.gov.au
Publisher/Agency Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities
comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus